…as human beings, we instinctively want the best for ourselves. This desire, by itself, is healthy when driven by selflessness and realistic ambitions but becomes dangerous if it leads us to shut out the needs of those who are supposed to be closest to our hearts.

Invisible

By Edlyn Mason

October 2014

Can you see me?

Brokenhearted, bruised

Agony brimming in unshed tears

Spirit bleeding

Can you hear me?

Knotted stomach screaming silently

Slumped shoulders desperately appealing to your sensitivity

Soul weeping

Can you feel me?

Across the chasm between my hurt and your lack of understanding

Behind the wall of your indifference

Locked in the frigid embrace of your single-mindedness

Has your selfishness blinded you, as my long-suffering silence has ambushed me?

Is it that I am invisible?

Is this fate confronting me?

Can you see me, hear, or feel me?

One thought on “…as human beings, we instinctively want the best for ourselves. This desire, by itself, is healthy when driven by selflessness and realistic ambitions but becomes dangerous if it leads us to shut out the needs of those who are supposed to be closest to our hearts.

Leave a Reply

